How To Get Control Of Your Time And Your Life

I picked up How To Get Control Of Your Time And Your Life hoping to snatch some tips on effective time management. I started managing/scheduling my time a couple of months ago using Google Calendar (before that it was done in my mind or on scraps of paper). It is quite rudimentary, but suits my work style well. I’m aware of the newer techniques like GTD (which really works BTW!), but the problem with me is that I abhor these simply because they entail extra work. I’m too lazy like that.

Anyway, this book is well recommended, pretty old (1973) and written by Alan Lakein. The tone is informal. Alan talks about techniques of managing your long term goals, short term activities and assigning priorities. I’ve been reading the 43 Folders blog for quite some time now and so am already aware of most of these. There was nothing new I learnt from this book. The book is really tiny and can be finished in a few hours. If you’re not doing any kind of time management/scheduling, then this book will help you a lot. But, if you’re already done with newer techniques like Getting Things Done, don’t bother with this one.

Leave a comment